Our Leadership

Department of Medicine Executive

The Department of Medicine is aptly led by a diverse team of senior leaders, who are recognized for their national and international contributions to academic medicine.

Our Executive Committee is comprised of clinicians who are early in their career, as well as those who are established. We have six physicians-in-chief who represent the department at the fully affiliated Toronto Academic Health Science Network (TAHSN) hospitals with the Department of Medicine, University of Toronto.

Education, Research, Quality and Innovation and Culture & Inclusion are the portfolios that drive the Department of Medicine’s strategic vision and mission – and each portfolio is led by one of four vice-chairs.

Each of our 20 divisions is led by a departmental division director, and the divisional residency and fellowship programs are supported by directors in each individual division.

Our Organizational Structure

DoM Org Chart

Department of Medicine Executive Committee

Senior Executive

Gillian Hawker Sir John and Lady Eaton Professor and Chair of Medicine
Michael Farkouh

Vice-Chair, Research

Arno Kumagai Vice-Chair, Education
Kaveh Shojania Vice-Chair, Quality and Innovation
Lisa Richardson Vice-Chair, Culture & Inclusion


Chaim Bell Sinai Health System
Kathryn Tinckam University Health Network
Paula Harvey Women's College Hospital
Michelle Hladunewich Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Gary Naglie Baycrest Centre for Geriatric Care
Sharon Straus St. Michael's Hospital

Department Division Directors


Susanna Mak

Stephen Betschel Clinical Immunology & Allergy
David Juurlink Clinical Pharmacology & Toxicology
Laurent Brochard Critical Care
Vincent Piguet Dermatology
Anil Chopra

Emergency Medicine

Jacqueline James Endocrinology & Metabolism
Laura Targownik Gastroenterology & Hepatology
Moira Kapral General Internal Medicine
Barbara Liu Geriatric Medicine
Isaac Odame Hematology
Rupert Kaul

Infectious Diseases

Monika Krzyzanowska Medical Oncology
Rulan Parekh Nephrology
David Tang-Wai (Interim) Neurology
Anil Adisesh Occupational Medicine
Camilla Zimmermann Pallative Medicine
Larry Robinson Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Douglas Bradley Respirology
Heather McDonald-Blumer Rheumatology

Department Program Directors

Ryan Brydges Educational Researcher
Robert Chen Chair, Eliot Phillipson Clinician-Scientist Training Program

Jeannette Goguen

Director, Internal Medicine Training Program
Cheryl Jaigobin Director, Fellowship Programs
Luke Devine Director, Undergraduate Medical Education
Brian Wong Director, Continuing Education and Quality Improvement

Young Faculty Representatives

Bourne Auguste Assistant Professor, Clinician in quality & innovation
Alanna Weisman Assistant Professor, Clinician-scientist

Senior Administration

Margaret Mah Director, Business and Administration
Sarah Jung Manager, Academic Programs 

Monica Flak

Strategic Planning Officer
Kristian Galberg Research Officer

Jocelyn Lagerquist

Brianne Tulk (on parental leave)

Communications Officer
Tyler Small Senior Advancement Officer