Message from the Chair

Gillian Hawker

Gillian Hawker, MD, MSc
Chair's Message  

The Department of Medicine at the University of Toronto is one of the oldest departments of its kind in North America, dating back to the founding of the School of Medicine in 1843.

Now, the Department of Medicine is one of the largest in North America, with 800 full-time faculty members, 1,000 postgraduate trainees, and 19 sub-specialty divisions located across six fully-affiliated hospitals, four community-affiliated hospitals and more than a dozen additional clinical practice sites. One third of Canada’s, and one half of Ontario’s, internal medicine specialists received their training here.  

Read more

Sep 5 2018 NSERC Discovery Grant and RTI Information Sessions (hosted by the University of Toronto)
Seminar | 1:00pm–3:00pm
Sep 11 Cy Frank Legacy Lectureship: Professor Dame Sally Davies
Event | 4:30pm–6:00pm
Sep 13 Professor's Day: Jennifer Knox
Invitation Only | 5:00pm–7:30pm
Sep 14 First Annual Cardio-Rheumatology Scientific Day
Event | 9:30am–2:30pm
Oct 11 Associate Professors' Day
Invitation Only | 5:00pm–7:30pm

Choosing Wisely Canada

Choosing Wisely Canada.
Values & Strategic Direction
The Department of Medicine: a catalyst, multiplier, facilitator
Back to Top